Grandma’s Traditional Dressing

I don’t remember exactly how many Thanksgivings we had at Grandma Buck’s house while I was growing up. I’m pretty sure it was a lot, though we were never really big on tradition for Thanksgiving.

Case in point: We went out for Thanksgiving dinner a few times, but that just wasn’t working for me. I wanted a home-cooked meal!

One thing that has really stuck with me after all of those holiday family dinners is my grandma’s stuffing. It was simple and to the point. I prefer to call it “traditional.” It’s more nostalgic that way.

Full disclosure: I have no idea if this is the recipe my grandma used. It’s just how I remember it.

Feaston Photo | Michael Buck

Serve this along with a turkey and you have the Thanksgiving of dreams.

My goal in making this variety of stuffing was simple: Get it as close as possible to what I remember from my childhood. As I sit here writing this, I have already come up with one more critique about my attempt — It needs to be more moist.

That aside, Grandma might as well have made this herself.

Traditional dressing doesn’t pull any punches. No fruit. No nuts. Straight up carby goodness.

Here’s what you need if you’re feeling traditional:

  • 8 cups bread cubes (croutons)
  • 3/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1 Spanish onion, diced
  • 4 celery stalks, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp poultry seasoning
  • S & P
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth

First thing you’re gonna do is soften you vegetables. Fry them in olive oil until tender. Season them with poultry seasoning, salt and pepper.  Transfer the mix to a large bowl and add the bread cubes (We used plain, unseasoned croutons).

Drench the mixture with chicken broth. Add less if you want a more dry stuffing and more if you are going for “in the bird” style. Like I said, I think more is better.

Butter or spray a large casserole dish with non-stick spray and bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. The top should be slightly crispy when it’s done.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner, Sides

Leave a Reply

