Honey-Mustard Crusted Chicken

Yes, sir, we’re still rolling out the recipes to dress up your chicken boobs.

Before I get too far, no, technically this is not a rub. The recipe book I have says it’s a marinade, but I don’t think it’s even that. It’s more of a glaze.

It’s a honey-Dijon mustard base with lemon, curry and some other pretty standard spices. It came out nice, but I’ll help you to avoid our mistakes. I grilled two chicken breasts, but I could only take a picture of this one because I burned the crap out of the other.

This one looks good though. Right?

This one looks good though. Right?

Let’s walk through the glaze before I tell you how NOT to burn the BeJesus out of the chicken. If you do any amount of cooking, you should have most of the ingredients in your kitchen. Here’s what you’ll need to assemble:

It's OK to ditch some of the items, but the ones you NEED are the honey mustard, lemon and curry.

It's OK to ditch some of the items, but the ones you NEED are the honey mustard, lemon and curry.

While we don’t always adhere to measurements, here is a good starting off point for the glaze. Quick tip: The curry can become overpowering VERY quickly, so if you use to add more, do it sparingly.

  • 1/2 cup Honey-Dijon Mustard
  • Dash of Olive Oil
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • Dash of sea salt
  • Dash of black pepper

Mix this all together in a container with a lid. YOU NEED THE LID! When I got all of it together, my glaze was still a bit thick, so I added about a Tbsp of vinegar and gave it a good stir.

Plop your chicken breasts in the container, throw the lid on and shake the crap out of it.

You want them nicely coated. Like so.

You want them nicely coated. Like so.

While our recipe said to leave them sit for 3 to 4 hours, we did like 30 minutes. Before you put them on the grill you are going to want to build the correct fire for this chicken.

We’re building a zone fire. Get the bulk of the coals on one side of the grill and cascade them down. This gives you three heat options. The other option is to build an indirect fire and grill your chicken in the middle. Do not grill them over direct heat. THEY WILL BURN!

I used direct. My biggest mistake when grilling. Fortunately I caught it quickly enough to only burn one side of one chicken.

I used direct. My biggest mistake when grilling. Fortunately I caught it quickly enough to only burn one side of one chicken.

A standard size chicken breast, about 8 ounces, should grill for about 12 to 14 minutes total, turning once. We chose to just serve the chicken with steamed broccoli. But since you have the grill going, trying throwing some veggies on with the chicken. Grilled asparagus has always been a Feaston favorite.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

