The Crab, the Steak and the Cake

Last week was my birthday.

My sister called me up to wish me a happy birthday and asked if I was going out to dinner to celebrate.

“Nope,” I said. Staying in. Having a little surf and turf.

After doing 25 of these, I think that qualifies me as an expert on what Mike likes on his birthday. I like good food, a beer or two, and cake. Because I am special, I got all three.

Strip steak and crab cakes. That's how I roll.

Strip steak and crab cakes. That's how I roll.

It’s not even that this dinner is elaborate or anything. The ingredients are just a little expensive to be buying everyday.

Here comes the full disclosure: The crab cakes were pre-made from Giant. This will be one of the few times I tell Wegmans to suck it …  just not as good.

We got the crab cakes in a pack of four. We placed a pad of butter on top of them and broiled them for about 10 minutes. Serve them with lemon. Perfect.

As for the turf, we picked out a 16 ounce strip steak. We split it and it was plenty for the both of us. But before you go splitting a steak, cook it as a whole one. It will be better that way.

Even though I had a nice cut of meat on my hands, I still employed a few techniques to make it better.

Nothing drastic. I just nudged it closer to perfection.

Nothing drastic. I just nudged it closer to perfection.

Here is what I did:

  • I started by trimming away the fat around the outside of the steak. This is merely a health concern. Also, you end up with less gritty bits when you are eating.
  • Next I tapped each side lightly with the spiked side of a meat mallet. Don’t do it too hard, just enough to leave a mark.
  • And finally, I rubbed on some fresh cracked pepper and sea salt. That’s for banging flavor.

This steak was about 1 1/4 inches thick. So I grilled it for a little less than 5 minutes a side over direct high heat. That came out to be on the medium rare side. Perfect.

Originally, we planned to grill asparagus with the meal. That didn’t pan out, probably because of laziness. Also the greens got in the way of the meat.

The dinner was about $35 for the both of us. Not bad for cooking at home. Would have been much more than that had we gone out. Also I got to watch Deadliest Catch and sip a Yuengling while I ate. Nothing like dinner and a show for a birfday party.

But we weren’t done yet. A birthday isn’t complete without a cake. And Michelle was all over that. The cake, ooooh, the cake!

A double-layer funfetti cake. My fav!

A double-layer funfetti cake. My fav!

Even though it was just me and her, we lit the sucker on fire and she sang me a quick version of happy birthday.

You couldn't even taste the wax. And yes, there were 25 candles on the cake.

You couldn't even taste the wax. And yes, there were 25 candles on the cake.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

