Not Your Ordinary Hamburger

Last week when I came home from work I wanted meat. Grilled meat.

And we were scheduled to have some vegetarian meal. I quick canceled that and started defrosting some hamburger to make what will now be known as Feaston’s signature hamburger.

They look a little like this:

The grill does what the grill do, but you need to know what to put in the meat.

The grill does what the grill do, but you need to know what to put in the meat.

So I got to work creating some juicy, flavorful hamburgers. Starting with the meat.

Many moons ago, I starting forming my own hamburgers instead of buying them prepackaged. It’s cheaper that way and you can spice them up real nice.

If you are forming your own hamburgers, you are going to need beef with 20 percent fat. Anything with less fat than that is going to fall apart on the grill. At least, not without a bunch of added material like eggs.

But forget that . Get some nice 80-20 beef and be done with it. Dump it all in a large bowl.

Feaston didn’t go too crazy with the spices for our signature patties. We chose:

  • Worcestershire sauce
  • Garlic salt
  • A little black pepper

When your making hamburgers, a little goes a long way.

Kneed your spices into the beef well and divide them up into patties of your choosing. I went with what I am guessing to be 1/3 pounders.

Now as for the grill. You are going to want to cook your burgers on direct high heat. For a patty that is 1/2 to 3/4 inch thick it is going to be 8 to 10 minutes for medium doneness. I go for the full 10 minutes, moving them off the hottest part of the grill if they look to be cooking quickly.

I wish I had some great tips for how to tell when your burger is done, but that time frame should be about perfect.

The best tip I can offer is to melt cheese while the meat is on the grill. It's really the only way to make a decent cheeseburger.

The best tip I can offer is to melt cheese while the meat is on the grill. It's really the only way to make a decent cheeseburger.

The toppings on Feaston’s signature burger are traditional. Mayo, Heinz ketchup, tomato and pickles. Lettuce and onion if you have it.

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner

One response to “Not Your Ordinary Hamburger

  1. Good Eater

    Thanks a lot, now there’s drool all over my keyboard!

Leave a Reply

