Mike’s Special Chili

Editor’s note: Sorry about the delays in publishing new posts. Feaston has been VERY busy over the Easter weekend with family affairs. We now return to our regularly scheduled programming.

I will toot my own horn for a minute and say that I am very proud of this recipe.

“I am very proud of this recipe.”

Now that’s done, we can get down to business and I will let you in on the secret to my chili, which more than one person has complimented.

There are no secret recipes here at Feaston. We are not going to hoard our cooking tips and carefully crafted recipes. We’re an open book, baby. So lets make ‘dis.

It's a special chili recipe created by a dude who likes chili.

It's a special chili recipe created by a dude who likes chili.

When I first received my Crock Pot in college, I went on a quest to make some good chili. I wanted something that I liked, but something I could serve to other people as well.

I started making a small list about what I liked about chili and what I wanted.

It should be spicy, but not too spicy. The consistency should be that of a nice stew. But at the same time there should be a lot of stuff in it.

Browsing through the Fix-it-and-forget-it cookbook, I looked for a recipe that might be a good start. I found one that was meaty and called for extra tomatoes.

Nice.

So I began cooking it. Tweaked it here, added some spices there, how about another can of that. To finish it off I developed what would become the secret ingredient.

It's all hand written in my own cookbook.

It's all hand written in my own cookbook.

It worked beautifully.

Now, Internet, I am going to lay it all out there for you.

First, you are going to need to gather these ingredients.

First, you are going to need to gather these ingredients.

Add 1.5 to 2  pounds of ground beef and an onion to that list and you’ve got most of the main ingredients. Now the secret ingredient: a small can of tomato paste. I will tell you what to do with that later.

Mike’s chili is very easy to make. First, brown your ground beef. When it’s almost finished, throw your onion in to mellow the flavor a touch. Drain the mix when you’re done.

It should look like this.

It should look like this.

Now add the rest of your ingredients to the Crock Pot. Rinse and drain the beans first. Add the tomatoes juice and all. Here’s a full list of what you’ll need:

  • Two 16 oz cans of dark red kidney beans
  • One 16 oz can of black beans
  • Two 14.5 oz cans of diced tomatoes
  • One small can of tomato paste diluted in four cups water
  • One medium sized white or yellow onion
  • One crushed garlic clove (run it through a garlic press)
  • Three Tbsp chili powder
  • Two Tbsp ground cumin
  • Black pepper
  • Sea salt

Notice that tomato paste? That’s what you’ll need to do to it. Spoon it out of the can and into a mixing bowl. Add four cups of water and whisk it until it becomes liquid-like. If your chili still seems too thick you can add an additional cup of water.

Cook on low for 8 to 10 hours.

To spice things up a bit. I usually sprinkle crushed rep pepper on top just before I close the lid. If you really want to kick it up, add one or two diced jalapeno peppers.

Serve your new favorite chili in a shallow bowl and top it with Mexican cheese and a dollop of sour cream.

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner

One response to “Mike’s Special Chili

  1. GoodEater

    Oh, the goodness! Except your intrepid reader got distracted during prep and ended up using 3 Tbsp of CHIPOTLE Chili Powder instead of just Chili Powder…yeeoowww!!! Spicy!!!! Still awesome though, and just gave me justification to throw reduced fat cheese and sour cream in there…thanks Mikey!

Leave a Reply

