Thirsty Thursday: Cafe Latte

While I began to write this post, I was trying to figure out what to call what I had made. Was it a latte? Cafe au lait? Cappuccino?

Who knows.

So I turned to google for a minute. It turns out there are distinctions to all of these words. At first glance it would seem that I made a cappuccino, but that’s not the case. Apparently what we have here is a genuine cafe latte.

I guess I could have called it a "coffee drink," but that doesn't sound all that sexy.

I guess I could have called it a "coffee drink," but that doesn't sound all that sexy.

See, a cafe latte differs from a cappuccino in that the latte is made with more steamed milk. I guess the milk to espresso ratio is higher in the cappuccinos. But that is WAY too much thinking before any type of coffee in the morning.

Anyway, I like lattes. I got hooked on espresso while I went to study abroad (or two, HEY-O) in France. I was drinking them out of the tiny mugs for a while. But then I discovered the cafe au lait, which is similar to a latte.

It’s all very confusing really.

The point is, when I moved back, I bought a espresso machine, complete with steamer. Lattes for everyone!

See our tips below if you don't have one of these.

See our tips below if you don't have one of these.

Chances are if you have a espresso machine, you know how to make a latte. Brew the espresso, steam the milk. Done.

What if you don’t have one? Well, you can easily make something that resembles steamed milk using more common kitchen items.

For starters, get some drip coffee brewing and make it extra strong. I would suggest four or five tablespoons of coffee for 2 cups of water.

As for the milk? Throw some in a blender. Spin it up good and then throw the milk in the microwave. For some reason the microwave fluffs up the milk. Try it, you’ll see what I mean.

You can make the mix however you want it, but 50-50 is usually pretty good, that’s why you want the strong coffee.

Now, this isn’t going to be like Starbucks by anymeans. But it’s a different twist on regular coffee.

Leave a comment

Filed under Brunch and Breakfast, Snacks

Leave a Reply

