A Breakfast Blend

I totally ripped this dish off from a diner in Michigan. At least, I ripped off the idea . I don’t think it could be considered a rip off anymore because I really have changed it to be my own thing.

Still, the basis is the same: it’s all the breakfast foods chopped up and covered with cheese and ketchup or hot sauce. It’s a really good, unique spin on breakfast and will totally satisfy your cravings for diner food without killing your calorie count.

We went with the hot sauce as a topper this time, though ketchup is my traditional favorite.

We went with the hot sauce as a topper this time, though ketchup is my traditional favorite.

Like I said, I ripped off the idea from a diner on Western Michigan University’s campus: Maggie’s. It’s this little joint in what used to be a house. Best breakfast ever.

I would go there on Saturday mornings after swimming practice to replace the calories I had just burned with a full boat of this meal. The order was huge and I could only ever consume the whole thing if I had just come from swimming.

Somewhere along the line I figgered that I could probably make this at home. It wasn’t too hard because I don’t believe there is any real recipe to this. What follows is the way that I like to eat it. But feel free to experiment with different ingredients.

The original calls for cheese, potatoes, sausage, bacon, ham and eggs. I paired it down to just one meat, eggs, potatoes and cheese. To make things even simpler, I use precooked turkey sausage.

To start you need a couple of spuds; Yukon golds or russets will do just fine. Shred them. If you don’t have a shredder, slice them thin with a knife.

If you don't have one, a box grater is a wise investment for your kitchen. They run less than $15.

If you don't have one, a box grater is a wise investment for your kitchen. They run less than $15.

Dump the spuds into a frying pan with a helping of butter and get them frying. Like an idiot, I used oil (and a lot of it) in my cast iron pan and my hash browns turned into just brown goop. They tasted fine all the same, but ideally you want some crisp spuds here.

Butter will burn the potatoes. Use A SMALL dab of oil to prevent burning.

Butter will burn the potatoes. Use A SMALL dab of oil to prevent burning.

The spuds will take about 20 minutes on medium to medium high heat to resemble something that looks like hash browns. If you crank the heat, beware of burning them. You want the potatoes to sit still and brown, so that means not a lot of flipping and stirring.

Once the potatoes are done (and that’s pretty much a judgment call), slice up the precooked sausage and throw that in the pan to begin heating.

We like the turkey sausage because it's lower in fat but still has all the taste.

We like the turkey sausage because it's lower in fat but still has all the taste.

While that’s doing its thing, whip up a few eggs in a separate container. Add a touch of milk to help fluff them up. Since your pan has been on a while it should be very hot by now. THE EGGS WILL COOK QUICKLY! So keep them moving.

By now you should have something that looks like a scrambled mess. That’s what we’re going for. Just spoon it out onto a plate and throw some cheese on top. I like white American or Colby Jack.

See? A scrambled mess.

See? A scrambled mess.

Top it all off with some salt and pepper and your choice of sauce. Enjoy one of the heartiest breakfasts known to man.

1 Comment

Filed under Brunch and Breakfast, Dinner

One response to “A Breakfast Blend

  1. Teresa

    How about some onions and green peppers?

Leave a Reply

