CheEASY Black Bean Quesadillas

We. Love. Quesadillas.

We like vegetable quesadillas. We like chicken quesadillas. Beef quesadillas are OK.

But tonight, we are having one of the quesadillas that WE LOVE: Black Bean (the other is plain cheese).

This is topped simply with Goya brand salsa. Why? That's all we had.

This is topped simply with Goya brand salsa. Why? That's all we had.

Let me explain a little about how this obsession evolved.

When I was in high school I began eating flour tortillas with melted Mexican blend cheese in them. I ate it for an afternoon snack. Granted it’s not all that healthy, but it was sooo good.

Going to college, I never shook that hook. I garbaged down on Burrito Day in the cafe and later on the ingredients would become a permanent fixture on my grocery list. Somewhere along the way I decided to take the extra couple of minutes to grill the tortillas for a little crunch.

While living alone and cooking for one, this meal would show up usually about once a week. And in a nutshell, that’s how an afternoon snack became a meal.

After I began cooking it sooo much, I started to experiment with putting other stuff, like chicken, veggies and spices, inside. Along the way I developed a spice blend that I regularly now use in Mexican cooking, I’ll explain that in a minute.

Both Michelle and I have a bit of a soft spot for Mexican food, which explains our obsession with this place.

Anyway, I most recently made black bean quesadillas after both Michelle and I had long days at work. It was supposed to be her night to cook, but I offered up this meal instead. It couldn’t be easier to make.

Except when a long day makes you fall asleep behind the spatula and burn things.

Except when a long day makes you fall asleep behind the spatula and burn things.

But we will not let you make that same mistake. The best reason we came up with for the FAIL was because we used a cast iron pan (very thick and slow to heat) and a Teflon pan (easy to heat) to make two quesadillas at once. So do yourself a flavor and make them in batches like pancakes.

We like the 10 inch tortillas. They are a good size for a meal, but aren’t too big. We prefer flour over corn. Preheat your pan.  Nevermind spraying it – these won’t stick. Cook them on medium to medium high heat.

While that’s starting, get out a can of black beans, drain and rinse them (c’mon, you know the drill!).

These are store brand black beans. Wegman's of course.

These are store brand black beans. Wegman's of course.

Arrange about a 1/2 cup of beans and a 1/4 cup or so of cheese on the tortilla. Obviously, use more cheese if you want it to be more filling or if you JUST LOVE CHEESE!

Load up your tortillas with tons of STUFF!

Load up your tortillas with tons of STUFF!

Add spices. Now listen up, because I use this blend quite a bit.

Mike’s All Purpose Mexican Spice Blend:

Chili powder, black pepper, cumin, cilantro, crushed red pepper and a little sea salt. Add a touch of your favorite hot sauce. I like this one.

Carefully set your loaded tortilla on your warmed up frying pan. Top it off with another tortilla and, are you ready for this?

Wait.

After about 5 to 7 minutes, check the down side. It will be ready to flip when it looks something like this.

Light brown and crunchy.

Light brown and crunchy.

Top this off with some salsa, hot sauce and/or sour cream. This also goes well with any sort of margarita or Corona, duh! If only we had some Cointreau.

Read the recipe here.

3 Comments

Filed under Dinner

3 responses to “CheEASY Black Bean Quesadillas

  1. Jessica

    Feaston we must be on the same wave length. I too just made black bean quesadillas (a favorite in our house)!

    Mine had a bit of a twist with black beans, a little salsa, red pepper, avacado, and of course cheese. A little more $ on the grocery bill, not a lot of extra prep work, and very worth it. Next time I will be sure to try the spice blend though…sounds great.

    Gracias!

  2. michykeen

    Mmmmm … I fully support avocado additions to all Mexican dishes!

  3. Yummmm!!! An easy, delicious, and VEGETARIAN meal. I have corn tortillas currently, I agree with flour over corn. I’m off to buy some flour tortillas at the grocery store and be set for lunch for the week!

Leave a Reply

