Barbecue Pork Chops

Last week, I was trying to come up with some meals that would require me to buy minimal items at the grocery store. So, of course, I was standing in front of my fridge with both doors wide open groaning.

“Uuuuuuuggghhhhhhhhh, I don’t have ANYTHING!”

Oh, there was stuff in my freezer. But I was just kinda bored with all of it. So I took it back to basics and created this little ditty with a special Feaston side dish.

This meal tastes great on a cold winter night. We should know, it was about 15 out when we ate this.

This meal tastes great on a cold winter night. We should know, it was about 15 out when we ate this.

A couple of weeks ago, I purchased a club pack of pork chops. I bought them specifically to make this meal, but now I found myself with like eight extra chops.

Pork can be great. One of my favorite things to do is to grill  chops with some hickory chips for some added smokey flavor. I thought about doing that for about a second before I remember it was all of 4 degrees outside.

I tend to cook seasonally. As a dude, that means cooking with my grill in the warm months and busting out the Crock Pot when it gets cold. It’s a good way to run things. I have burgers and chicken in the summer and chili and stews in the winter.

What I came up with was a close second to bbq-ing the chops: I slow cooked. The result was remisicent of this recipe, but I decided to go with some different sides.

The first thing I did was to make the some barbecue sauce. I decided that I wanted to use my own sauce. I made it the night before and just stuck it in a jar overnight. It’s easy enough to make, except when you forget about it because you are hammering out tunes on Rock Band.

Luckily, my stoopidness didn’t ruin the sauce.

The next morning, while I was still bleary-eyed and clad in my robe, I dug out the Crock Pot. Normally I save days that I cook in the morning for the weekend, but this is too easy to mess up. Throw in the chops and cover them with bbq sauce.

Cook them on low for 8 to 10 hours. They will be ready when you get home from work.

They should look a little like this when they are done.

They should look a little like this when they are done.

Now for the sides. I chose green beans and roasted garlic cloves. I realize the latter may seem a little pretentious, but it’s so effing good.

The green beans are easy enough to get ready. Snap off the ends and place them in a pot of water. They will need to cook for about 10 minutes after the water begins to boil. We served them plain (watching our calories, doncha know).

As for the roasted garlic cloves, you’re going to need at least a full bulb of garlic for two people. The next part is sort of a pain in the ass, that is, if you haven’t read Feaston before. To easily peel garlic, just smack it with the broad side of a knife. The skins should fall off after that.

Plus, it will make your hands smell are garlic-y.

Plus, it will make your hands smell are garlic-y.

Wrap the cloves in foil, and drizzle olive oil over them. Roast them in the oven at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes.

Close the package up when you put it in the oven.

Close the package up when you put it in the oven.

Now, since I had an extremely long day at work when I ate this, I had a tall glass of Leinenkugel’s Honey Weiss. For not having anything in my freezer, this recipe was a great way to use up those extra chops. Which, when you buy them in a larger pack, are MUCH cheaper.

Makes enough for 1 pork roast or several pizzas

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 2 Tbsp. butter
  • 2 Tbsp. molasses
  • 1 Tbsp. vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. water

Melt  butter in a saucepan then add ketchup, molasses, vinegar and water until all is combined.  Additional spices, such as brown sugar, garlic, onions, Worcestershire sauce and cayenne pepper can be added to suit your tastes.

This will keep in the refrigerator for several weeks.

1 Comment

Filed under Dinner

One response to “Barbecue Pork Chops

  1. Linda Buck

    Hmmm…seems to me that “Mike’s Signature Sauce” is a LOT like the sauce his Mom used to make when he was a wee lad…just sayin’ is all.
    : 0 )

Leave a Reply

