Roasted Beet Salad

Beets, my coworker informed me, are having a moment.

And it’s true – suddenly they’re everywhere! Culinary curiosities! Which is a good thing because they are swinging into season in PA and we got our hands on some. The results, as you’ll see, were delicious.

In season at a farm near you!

So, what’s so great about beets? Well, they are bright frickin’ purple, and that’s cool in my book. Though, they do turn your hands an interesting shade of pink when you’re peeling them. I guess that’s why rubber gloves were invented. Beets are also an excellent source of fiber, iron and folic acid. And they taste gooood!

So here then is our simple summer roasted beet salad:

  • 3 beets
  • one head of arugula
  • goat cheese (Chevre)
  • chick peas
  • almonds
  • balsamic vinaigrette

First, roast the beets. Set your oven to 375 degrees. Cut the greens off the beets (you can save them and saute them later) and wrap in foil. Roast the beets for about 40 minutes to 1 hour, until they are soft and easily pierced with a knife.

Allow beets to cool and peel with fingers or a paring knife (this is when the gloves will come in handy). Slice and serve on arugula with cheese (not too much!), nuts and chick peas as topping.

See? Couldn’t be easier. There’s even a method if you don’t want stained fingers.

3 Comments

Filed under Dinner, Salads

3 responses to “Roasted Beet Salad

  1. Your salad looks great, amazing colours! I love beets with cheese.

  2. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  3. I genuinely enjoy reading through on this web site , it has got wonderful posts .

Leave a Reply

